top of page

Early Years Foundation Stages (EYFS)


  • EYFS states ‘Every child deserves the best possible start in life and for them to fulfil their potential.’

  • EYFS sets out the standards that ‘all early year’s providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and safe.’

  • EYFS seeks to provide; ‘quality and consistency, a secure foundation, partnership workings and equality of opportunities.’

  • EYFS specifies ‘requirements for learning and development and safeguarding children and promoting their welfare.’

  • The safeguarding and welfare requirements cover ‘the steps that providers must take to keep children safe and promote their welfare.’

  • Four guiding principles; ‘every child is a unique child, children learn to be strong and independent, enabling environments and children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.’

Learning and Development Requirements

“There are seven areas of learning and development made up of three prime and four specific areas.”

Prime areas:

  • Communication and Language

  • Physical development

  • Personal, social and emotional development

Specific areas:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding The World

  • Expressive Arts and Design

bottom of page